A welcome to the single driver speaker circle

jrebman

A welcome to the single driver speaker circle
« on: 9 Sep 2007, 10:27 pm »
My name is Jim and I am the facilatator for this new, but apparently long overdue circle.  I'm quite new at this facilitator thing so bear with me as I learn the ropes.

I wanted to start this circle because I have a deep curiosity and fascination with the subjects of single driver speakers and single-ended amps and I know many others do as well.

The demand for products in this market seems to have brought it more into the audio mainstream and with everybody from DIY enthusiasts to seasoned audiophiles jumping in to experience what it's all about.

This will be a place to share experiences, knowledge, and questions.  All are welcome from novices to experts, from manufacturers and designers and DIY enthusiasts.

The only thing I really request is that everybody who comes here -- whether a fan of SD speakers, or not -- is that we all keep in mind that everybody has different ears, tastes, rooms, preferred musical genres, etc. and that any disagreement be cordial and respectful of the other person's point of view.  And of course, the usual AC rules about no religion or politics.

So again, welcome, and let's have fun!

-- Jim

Bob in St. Louis

• Volunteer
  • "Introverted Basement Dwelling Troll"
Re: A welcome to the single driver speaker circle
« Reply #1 on: 10 Sep 2007, 12:52 pm »
Welcome to the club Jim, and congratulations on your promotion and new duties. :thumb:
I'm honored to be the first to post in your new forum. :wink:

I have a few questions for you:
- Is a coaxial considered a single driver? Or is that called "cheating" by the SD purists?
- What, by true definition of "Single Driver" are it's responsibilities in the frequency spectrum? Are they allowed augmentation?

Bob

Scott F.

« Reply #2 on: 10 Sep 2007, 02:38 pm »
Very cool, we now have a single driver Circle  :thumb: