Help finishing my x-ls encores....

rtate

Help finishing my x-ls encores....
« on: 24 May 2012, 01:11 am »
So I'm just about finished my x-ls encores and I would like a little advice from you guys regarding finishing.I'm using a birds eye maple veneer and I would like it to really "pop".
I have very little experience and was thinking of using an oil based finish cut with varsol and several coats to give them some depth. I have seen many great finishes here and just want to get a decent finish...
Anyway, any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated !!! Please fire away... :thumb:
This is also my first time uploading pictures so I hope it works.... :green:

Peter J

• Hmmmm
Re: Help finishing my x-ls encores....
« Reply #1 on: 24 May 2012, 02:17 am »

Nice looking cabs.

Most any oil based product will pop grain to some extent. Do you want to color them at all? I'd reccomend at least a light dye. Oil  and solvent base finishes tend to amber over time, and while it looks good at first, the yellow cast looks unappealing to my eye after a few years.

I don't know what Varsol is...paint thinner?

If you're wanting an easy to manage hand applied finish, you could start with a coat of tung oil to pop the grain, followed by as successive coats of a wipe on finish like Waterlox. Very easy and can build as much as you like to acheive the look you're after.  There are others, but Waterlox is easy and a darn good finish to boot. You could add a little TransTint to either product to reduce the effect I mentioned earlier.

http://www.homesteadfinishingproducts.com/htdocs/TransTint.htm

Here's another method:
http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/videos/pop-goes-the-maple/

I just googled "pop birdseye maple grain" and got these:

http://woodworking.com/ww/Article/Finish_for_birds_eye_maple_4014.aspx

http://woodworking.about.com/od/typesofwood/p/WoodworkingWithMaple.htm

Don_S

« Reply #2 on: 24 May 2012, 02:29 am »