Newbie questions about Omega XRS

humanflyz

Newbie questions about Omega XRS
« on: 12 Sep 2006, 03:34 am »
Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to speakers, but based on some very positive word of mouth, I became aware of the Omega XRS speakers. So far, they seem really nice, but I am wondering how they would sound in a small room. My room measures 10'x11'x8' (WxLxH), and my speaker setup will probably be diagonal. What I'm worried about is that the Omega XRS will sound boomy and too overwhelming in my room due to the small size and the difficulty in positioning them. I currently have a Pass Labs Aleph 3 amp, which puts out 30wpc. Thanks.

humanflyz

Re: Newbie questions about Omega XRS
« Reply #1 on: 12 Sep 2006, 06:52 pm »
No replies?

Vinnie R.

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.vinnierossi.com
« Reply #2 on: 12 Sep 2006, 07:02 pm »
Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to speakers, but based on some very positive word of mouth, I became aware of the Omega XRS speakers. So far, they seem really nice, but I am wondering how they would sound in a small room. My room measures 10'x11'x8' (WxLxH), and my speaker setup will probably be diagonal. What I'm worried about is that the Omega XRS will sound boomy and too overwhelming in my room due to the small size and the difficulty in positioning them. I currently have a Pass Labs Aleph 3 amp, which puts out 30wpc. Thanks.

Hi humanflyz,

Welcome to Audiocircle!

I recommend the Super 3 V2's over the XRS for your room.  The V2's are front ported and are not boomy when placed close to walls (in my experience). 

Here is a 6moons review of them (by Jeff Day, who recently reviewed the XRS) from back in December 2004:
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/omega2/super3.html

The Skylan Stands are a great match, too!  :)

Best regards,

Vinnie

humanflyz

« Reply #3 on: 12 Sep 2006, 07:12 pm »
@Vinnie: