Furnaces

Randy

Furnaces
« on: 2 Jul 2016, 05:37 pm »
The furnace in my home is the original, circa 1977, that came with the house. It works fine. What can I gain with a modern gas, forced air furnace? It would be nice to have a quieter blower, but even a new furnace has to send the air through the house. Any furnace experts here?

Devil Doc

• On the road to Perdition
Re: Furnaces
« Reply #1 on: 2 Jul 2016, 05:41 pm »
I'm no expert, but you'll certainly gain efficiency.

Doc

JerryM

• Where's The Bar?
« Reply #2 on: 2 Jul 2016, 06:24 pm »
I'm no expert, but you'll certainly gain efficiency.

Doc

Along with designed obsolescence.

Have you done the math, Randy? Get a few bids from the most reputable General Contractors you can find. Ask them about utility company or state/local rebates. Ask them about local permits and permit fees. Talk to local utilities yourself, too. Determine your 'payback time', and make a decision from there.

Also, don't forget the designed obsolescence part. Make sure the most reputable General Contractors you can find list Warranty terms in no-nonsense language. Make sure the warranty covers the furnace flue pipe, and the roof penetration surrounding the flue. Lastly, make sure your Homeowner's insurance company is involved, including a new Policy that lists coverage for the new furnace. Pay close attention to any exclusions, and negotiate Coverage pricing that insures the Exclusions that you find too risky. Don't forget to use this new Policy price within your payback time calculations.

Have fun,

Jerry

Devil Doc

• On the road to Perdition
« Reply #3 on: 2 Jul 2016, 07:04 pm »
You have a penchant for the obvious. I don't think there's anything made today that isn't designed for obsolescence, or to simply breakdown in X amount of time.

Doc

JerryM

• Where's The Bar?
« Reply #4 on: 2 Jul 2016, 07:39 pm »