BIT-15 or BIT-20

rabbix

BIT-15 or BIT-20
« on: 18 Dec 2018, 10:28 pm »
Hi guys, newbie here.

I'm planning to get a BIT-15 or BIT-20 for my source components. Here are what I'm using:
Antelope 10M atomic clock
Antelope Trinity master clock
Prism Sound DA-2
Prism Sound Orpheus interface
Studer A727 CD player

I may connect the Studer 962 mix consoles and some vintage tube preamplifiers to the isolation transformer too.

My question is if the BIT-15 is good enough? Or the BIT-20 will sound better? I've read some people claimed that the BIT-20 is much better even with small load. Is that true?

Thanks,
Scott

TJ-Sully

Re: BIT-15 or BIT-20
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2018, 01:13 am »
Hey Scott, welcome. Not sure i can help answer your question directly, as I've never tried the BIT15. But what i can add, is with the BIT20 in my system - it made a world of difference for the better. amazing product. feels like the music is in slow motion. The BIT20 will be the foundation of my system for years to come.   i hope!

but if you got the cash, go for bigger is better motto!  :thumb:

good luck

TJ

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
« Reply #2 on: 19 Dec 2018, 02:10 am »
Hi Scott

I generally recommend the BIT 15 for source gear and smaller amplifiers but the BIT 20 for larger amplifiers.

james

john1970

« Reply #3 on: 19 Dec 2018, 02:15 am »
Hi Scott,

I finally made the move to a Torus toroidal isolation transformer based power system.  For my system I definitely went with the larger BIT20, but I am plugging in two mono amps (Bryston 7Bs) and a subwoofer into mine which demands much more current than the components you are plugging into the unit. 

My personal recommendation would be to go with the BIT20 over the BIT15 and that way if you every need the additional capacity (in terms of current supply) you have it. 

Best,

John

jtinto

« Reply #4 on: 19 Dec 2018, 09:39 pm »
Scott,