100W N+/inefficient speakers v 55W N+/efficient speakers

jules

Every now and then the 55W N+ Aksa is compared with the 100W N+ Aksa. It seems to be agreed that the 100W gives more "slam" but the 55W wins on pure sonics (I haven't seen this described exactly. Does this mean for example that it excels on midrange voice for example? ). The touring 100W N+ recently fell into the middle of a nest of tube enthusiasts and survived with a great deal of honest and generally positive approval.

As a newbie I noticed that the "dark siders" are of necessity using v high efficiency speakers [above 95db] and trading off "slam" and performance in music from the sixties onward for clarity and excellence with vocals and acoustic instrumentation (if I can summarize it that briefly).

Am I right in thinking that high efficiency speakers require lighter cones/coils etc, softer neoprene/foam surrounds and in general less weight?

What I am getting at here is, would it be better to tailor the 100W and 55W amps more specifically so that the 55W is combined with a 95db + speaker system and aimed closer to the "tube" sound market while the 100W is more suited to music needing outright power?

When Hugh designed the Aksa 55 it was intended to get as close to the sonic warmth of tubes as could be achieved with a non tube system [please excuse me putting words in your mouth Hugh] and a constant thread runs through all reviews of this amp to say that he has got closer to this ideal than any other SS amp.

Much attention goes into the use of a tube pre-amp (such as the GK-1) to add the final touch to the sound of the Aksa 55 but should we be looking more closely at the other end of the system and finding a more specifically matched set of speakers for these amps?

Jules

AKSA

« Reply #1 on: 22 Nov 2004, 08:36 am »
Jules,

Characteristically insightful post about loudspeakers and the general philosophy of the amp.  Many thanks!