Solid Core Plywood construction

David Ellis

• http://www.ellisaudio.com
Solid Core Plywood construction
« on: 19 Nov 2006, 03:29 pm »
I received this message via email and thought the question and my response would be good for public consumption.

Hi Dave,

Thanks in advance for your time - it is appreciated.  I'm considering
buying your kit with completed crossovers to build the floor standing
version.  This would be my first project.  I'm leaning towards using
two layers of high quality 3/4 inch baltic birch plywood for all panels
(possibly more for the bottom and back) and maybe lumber for the
baffle.

I'm no expert and have virtually no technical aspirations!  I just want
to build a high quality speaker, happen to have access to some
relatives who are professional wood workers, and above all would like
to have some fun...

You're probably going to cringe, but mainly for aesthetics I'd like to
modify the basic floor stand design.  Something like the Usher CP 6311.
  I'm not after absolute accuracy, as I realize that my room acoustics
and listening position may a have greater audible impact than the
changes I'd like to try.  In your opinion, how much would the following
affect the overall audible sound (in aggregate)?

1. Retain the baffle width, roundover and driver placement of the
monitors - I wouldn't change the interior width of the cabinet, just
make the side walls twice as thick.

2. Make the overall height slightly taller - either by making a sealed
bottom chamber or using 4 layers of 3/4 inch panels, etc.

3. Slope the entire speaker cabinet approximately 5 to 7 degrees (top
and bottom panels would remain level).

Also, what would be the absolute maximum internal volume for a floor
stand version; at what point would be the acceptable internal volume
affect your design - is there a range?

Thank you again, and I apologize for all of the questions!  I'm not
sure if this will get off the ground, but...

Joe