The EA DSPNexus with NX-Treme and Servo Subs Integration Thread

Kazoom

Hi All,
Good News Everybody! My DSPNexus shipped today!   :thumb:
Thank you HAL!  :notworthy:

So lets get this “build” thread started.  My goal is to not only share my journey, but to provide a reference point for members of the community interested in taking their path to audio transcendence down the road of DSP and active crossovers.

This thread starter has tons of detail, but I think it all matters in the greater scheme of things. 

I believe I am typical of audiophiles on a budget who do their best with what they have to develop their systems over time.  Over the past 25 years, I focused on the best bang for my buck with each improvement.

Except for the speakers, this is the biggest upgrade I have ever made.

Intro
I am not an audio engineer.  Not even close.  I learned my way around REW through a “monkey see monkey do” approach.  I also built my chip amp using the same approach.  So, bear that in mind when I start asking stupid questions.   :scratch:

My interest in DSP and active crossovers started pre-covid when I was watching HAL’s thread on adding his monolithic 6x12” open baffle servo subs to his line arrays. 

About a month ago, I was chatting with @captainhemo when he suggested looking into the DSPNexus and going active.  I don’t know what it is about that guy, but he rivals the skills of Satan when it comes to sowing the seeds of audio temptation.  I have made more changes to my system based on conversations with him.  That guy kills me!
:tempted:

So I reached out to HAL with all sorts of questions.  His thorough answers showed his passion for helping others improve their systems which ultimately brought me here, taking it all to the "next level" on a system that is already considered at the "next level" by many.  This hobby is brutal.   :icon_twisted: