Difficult attic room

yertletheturtle

Difficult attic room
« on: 5 Jan 2014, 06:47 pm »
I am new to room treatments and need some serious help.  The room is 22' x 9' and as you can see the ceiling lines are wacky and there is NO symmetry.  there is a gorgeous view out my picture windows which I am trying to maintain.  My maggie 1.6qrs are ridiculous for the space but i love their sound.  I think a 242 panel behind the couch would be a good start and a panel behind the TV.  Also considering bass traps by knee wall where ceiling slopes off (opposite end of room from windows). Trying to avoid any 4" panels in the main listening area as these would impact on the limited space.  Any thoughts greatly appreciated

Big Red Machine

Re: Difficult attic room
« Reply #1 on: 5 Jan 2014, 07:11 pm »
I would think the speakers on the short dimension in front of the stairs so they can breathe into an unused space behind them (stairway and alcove).

Replace the couch with a chair and you have some nice space remaining and can get your back away from the window behind as well.

yertletheturtle

« Reply #2 on: 5 Jan 2014, 08:06 pm »
I would think the speakers on the short dimension in front of the stairs so they can breathe into an unused space behind them (stairway and alcove).

Replace the couch with a chair and you have some nice space remaining and can get your back away from the window behind as well.
Thanks for the thoughts
The orientation of the speakers on the long wall was after a lot of trial and error. The distance the other way is too short unless I am moving them every time- not doable.
It's an odd room! I have about 16" behind the speakers

bpape

• Industry Participant
  • I am serious and don't call my Shirley
    • Sensible Sound Solutions
« Reply #3 on: 9 Jan 2014, 06:23 pm »
Sorry for missing this.