Denafrips, to balance or not balance?

dq12guy

Denafrips, to balance or not balance?
« on: 14 Jan 2020, 09:38 pm »
Hello everyone another audiophile want to be has joined the ranks. Actually I have been dabbling in the sound illusion game for over 30 years now. Started with some MB Quartz speakers that I purchased my first year out of college and have been dropping quarters in ever since.

My gear is all over the place because there seems to be always greener grass in the other pasture.  :)

I recently picked up the Denafrips Ares II DAC. I am still braking it in, but I am impressed with what I hear so far.

Has anyone done any test to determine if the balanced output is audibly better than the line output on this unit?

Wind Chaser

Re: Denafrips, to balance or not balance?
« Reply #1 on: 14 Jan 2020, 10:09 pm »
Welcome to Audio Circle!  :thumb:

I’m not familiar with that DAC, but generally speaking balanced connections are preferred to single ended.

ArthurDent

• Don't Panic / Mostly Harmless
« Reply #2 on: 14 Jan 2020, 11:08 pm »
Greetings & Welcome to AC dq12guy   :thumb:

dq12guy

« Reply #3 on: 15 Jan 2020, 01:36 am »
Thanks everyone for welcoming me aboard. Here is a link to a review on the Denafrips Ares II DAC in Home Theater HiFi: https://hometheaterhifi.com/reviews/dac/denafrips-ares-ii-dac-review/. It just came out today. :icon_surprised:

ntjetsmoke

« Reply #4 on: 15 Jan 2020, 03:53 am »
Welcome to the AC!

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #5 on: 15 Jan 2020, 05:38 am »
Welcome Dq12guy :thumb:

AvsFan

« Reply #6 on: 15 Jan 2020, 03:52 pm »
Welcome!

The sound illusion game. I like that! I am going to start using that phrase.