Integrated amp + pair of speakers under $400?

gastro54

« on: 2 Nov 2003, 04:04 pm »
hey, im new to thwe world of hifi speakers, but have been using hifi headphones for some time.  Would you guys have any recommendation for an integrated amplifier and a pair of speakers for under $400? They will be used in my small bedroom.

EDIT o yea, my source is a NEC external cdrom drive and a ART DI/O unmodded (as of now :) )

_scotty_

« Reply #1 on: 2 Nov 2003, 08:37 pm »
gastro54, you could go to dealtime.com and pickup a Panasonic XR25 or XR45 for about $225.00 see thread on Two-channel Audio circle http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=4991 and then try to find some loudspeakers for cheap.
I don't know what is out there for almost nothing when it comes to speakers.

Galactus

« Reply #2 on: 2 Nov 2003, 08:46 pm »
This topic may get more replies in the Starting Block, so I have moved it.

Welcome to Audio Circle, gastro54.

Galactus

jqp

• Volunteer
  • Each CD lovingly placed in the nOrh CD-1
« Reply #3 on: 2 Nov 2003, 08:58 pm »
HiFi? Not sure you can really get all this for under $400!

But...

For low cost quality speakers I would look at the nOrh 3.0 drums or prisms. The drums went like hotcakes at the last Midwest Audio Fest.

$195 - $250

The "SE 9 is a Class A Single Ended (SE) integrated stereo tube amplifier "

$399

Thats probably as close to hifi for cheap as you can get - unless you go used. You could spend more on speakers and get the ceramic 4.0s for $400/pair

gastro54

« Reply #4 on: 2 Nov 2003, 09:14 pm »
ok, thanks for the replies, it is possible for mme to expand my budget, i dont want to buy inadequate speakers and then have to upgrade from them soon after i buy them.

duff138

« Reply #5 on: 2 Nov 2003, 09:32 pm »
check out the Axiom m2 speakers $255.  great reviews. try to get factory blemished for less.

Cambridge Audio
A300 50-Watt-Per-Channel Integrated Amplifier $200

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
« Reply #6 on: 2 Nov 2003, 09:36 pm »