Review: Fritz Heiler’s Carrera BE Bookshelf Speakers

hilde45

10/5/20 by hilde45

This is a review of John “Fritz” Heiler’s wonderful Carrera BE speakers ($3250, shipping included, 30 day home trial). A few months ago, after a call from him, I wrote about Fritz’s Carbon 7 SE Mk 2 speakers. He called again and asked if I’d like to try the Carreras; I said sure. I own neither pair of speakers. I am a hobbyist and amateur, not in the audio industry in any way, shape, or form. I am a relative newcomer to high quality audio, though interest in audio goes way back to the 1980’s (Acoustic Research speakers, Thorens turntable, Nakamichi tape decks, Yamaha and Adcom amplification). After spending 5 weeks with the Carreras, I’m ready to convey my experience.

EQUIPMENT AND SETUP

Speakers

As relayed on his website, the Carrera BE speakers are a 2-way vented stand mounted monitor; they have a frequency response of 36Hz-40Khz +/- 3 db, an impedance of 8 Ohms nominal, and a sensitivity of 87 db. Drivers include, first, a 7" paper cone Scan Speak Revelator and an SB Acoustics Satori Beryllium dome Tweeter. The speakers’ backs have nice quality binding posts and a large horn-like bass port. Further details about the drivers and wood grains can be found on Fritz’s website. The speakers implement an Acoustic Reality Serial Crossover without any resistors or capacitors in the circuit with the dome tweeter. I’m not versed in these technicalities, so I cannot speak to how ingenious or ordinary this design is; what I do know from conversations with Fritz is that he puts a lot of careful trial and error into his speaker designs in order to make the frequency handoff between drivers as seamless as possible. To my ear, Fritz’s speakers accomplish this brilliantly; there is a musician behind the design, clearly.