Monitor and subs VS tower speaker?

flavo

Monitor and subs VS tower speaker?
« on: 24 Oct 2019, 11:28 pm »
TLDR: In reviews I hear monitors frequently being called small sounding. Is this because they don't have the lower frequencies properly covered and with good subs, would sound "large"?

In general, in my head, it makes sense to keep the boxes separate.  A quality sub and a quality monitor should sound better then your average Hifi tower, no?

And, my story.

I'm putting together a new set of speakers for my unusually shaped room.  Photo proof here. The highest point in my room is 6.5' https://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=163796.msg1741364#msg1741364

I built and sold the above GR Research speakers because in my room and set up they sounded a bit bright for me and didn't image as well as I would like. After talking to Danny (after I sold them) he explained to me why they were bright and they could have been easily fixed. And I'm no expert on set up, so the imaging was likely my issue as well. I say that as not to disparage GR. I will most definitely be buying from him again.

While I had the open baffle set up, I also had a set of the Tekton Double Impacts. They imaged much better for me in my room, with lack of knowledge on set up and I really liked the mid and treble response I got from them. The bass was horribly bloomy in my room with them though. Unlike the GR OB bass, which was wonderful.

This leads me here. I bought new GR woofers and amps to build new subs as they performed so well for me. My plan was to put Tekton monitors on them as I liked the  upper sonic signature  on them. But am worried the monitors will be bass heavy as well. As they have been called in reviews.

So I'm looking at other monitors to put on top of my subs. Assuming I'm thinking accurately, I should be looking for a monitor that doesn't try to do everything because my subs will pick up the low end.  Should I be looking for specific HZ and KHZ ranges?