X-LS build question

kwhitman

X-LS build question
« on: 5 Oct 2015, 02:52 am »
I've been lurking here for some time and finally decided it was time to try my hand at building a pair of speakers.  My daughter recently graduated college and has moved into her own place and currently doesn't have a stereo.  She loves her music so I decided she would be my first victim :green: 

I'm new to speaker building so I have a few first time build questions.  I have completed the X-LS boxes and glued in the braces.  All that remains is applying the No-Rez, mount the crossover, and glue on the face plate.  My question is do I mount the crossover first then place No-rez around it or do I install the No-rez and mount the crossover on top with risers?  I guess I should also ask where most mount the crossover.  I would assume the crossover is mounted to the base of the speaker?

Also do I install the No-rez all the way to the front baffle?  I have seen some keep it back an inch from the front baffle????? 

Thanks in advance and sorry for such basic questions.  I have enjoyed the numerous builds shown on this site.

I have taken several pictures along the way so I can post some build pictures but mine are not anything compared to some of the very professional builds shown on this site.

Kris

Danny Richie

Re: X-LS build question
« Reply #1 on: 5 Oct 2015, 05:20 pm »
I got your e-mail and answered these questions there.

Maybe some of you guys can help him out further by posting your X-LS build pics.

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
« Reply #2 on: 5 Oct 2015, 11:16 pm »
Here's a link to my X-LS & X-CS Encore build thread.  http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=117653.0

I put the crossover on the bottom of the speakers and did not have any NoRez under it. Since then I do put NoRez under the crossover board but I remove the foam and leaving the damping material from where the board is going to go.