Considering Omega Speakers

EthanH

« on: 7 Jan 2006, 06:44 pm »
Hello everyone, I'm new to audio and am considering upgrading my current speakers.  I have B&W 602s2 monitors, and although they were a nice intro I now want something better.  I intend to use the B&W's for HT where I think they will be excellent.
I have a Cayin TA-30 integrated amplifier modified by Paul at Bizzy Bee, and am basically looking for a speaker that will provide the qualities that the B&W's were lacking:  ideally, I'd like as big and deep a soundstage as possible; highs that can sparkle a bit without becoming incongruous with the rest of the music; excellent vocal and acoustic reproduction; and bass that is not necessarily insane but is good for what is there and natural sounding (I'm not opposed to using a sub).  It would also be nice to get all of this and still be able to play somewhat complex music like David Bowie or what have you.
Some speakers I've been looking at include the Totem Arros and Green Mountain Audio Europas.  Has anyone heard or compared the Omega line to either of these choices?  Out of the Omegas I've seen the Super 3 and the bipoles both seem pretty promising, but I may be overlooking some other model.  Also, is anyone with a PP integrated similar to my Cayin  using Omegas for Dylan, Van Morrisson, Blues, etc?  
Any opinions would be great, and sorry for the rambling and somewhat stupid tone of my post   :D

konut

• Came for the value, stayed for the drama
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jan 2006, 07:59 pm »