Vibration control?

jawks

Vibration control?
« on: 16 Dec 2019, 03:11 pm »
Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to this circle but look forward to participating in some of the discussions moving forward!  I just picked up a used but in great condition Well Tempered Amadeus mk2 this past weekend -- my first WT table -- and after a little bit of effort setting it up, I finally got a chance to start some listening.  So far, my impressions have been very positive, coming most recently from a Thorens TD160 and, before that, a VPI Aries.  I've started pulling out my favorite records again to see how they sound on the new table, which has been a lot of fun.  One thing I have noticed is that the table is very sensitive to floor vibrations.  Even if I start walking towards the turntable, the closer I get, I start to hear some wobble to the sound, and firmer footing occasionally causes a skip.  Have any of you also experienced this issue and, if so, would you please share how you have dealt with it?  My Amadeus is currently sitting atop a Salamander rack.

Many thanks!

mick wolfe

Re: Vibration control?
« Reply #1 on: 16 Dec 2019, 03:30 pm »
You might look into a wall mount shelf or even consider a DIY wall mount design.

jawks

« Reply #2 on: 16 Dec 2019, 03:36 pm »
You might look into a wall mount shelf or even consider a DIY wall mount design.

Thanks for the quick reply!  A wall mount shelf would be great but is unfortunately not feasible with our current living room setup.  Would a vibration platform under the table offer any benefit?

rollo

• Industry Participant
  • Rollo Audio Consulting -
« Reply #3 on: 16 Dec 2019, 04:00 pm »
  Hi. You might try to decouple the TT from the surface below. Or decouple the rack, shelf or whatever TT sits on from floor. We use a sandbox that has a wood plinth which TT sits upon. That box is decoulped from the stand below it. The stand as well.
 Do you have suspended wood floors ?

charles

jawks

« Reply #4 on: 16 Dec 2019, 04:14 pm »