New member introduction

mflaming

New member introduction
« on: 30 Jan 2021, 02:49 pm »
Hi, I'm very new to the DIY audio world and have just completed my first build of the X-LS. They are (un)finished in raw MDF with a coat of sanding sealer. I wanted to get some experience building before moving to the ultimate goal of some nicely veneered SLS floor standers. While the MDF dust was making a mess of my garage, I went ahead with building a sealed sub cabinet - which is currently an unfunded project I'll have to get to it a little later.

My system is very modest compared to what I've seen here, just a simple Onkyo integrated, CD player and 20 yr old Rega turntable. No $2k DAC or anything. Streaming is from an Arylic wifi/bluetooth preamp.

Even on this very low end of the cost spectrum, with the base crossover, I'm getting great performance at a low cost. Under $300 in the pair as built. The sound at first seemed overly bright on the high end and very lacking in bass. However, after a week of use, this has really leveled out. I'm a bit of a skeptic when it comes to "break-in", but I'm a believer now. My previous speakers were lacking in any sort of soundstage, and now that I've got a taste of what can be done, I have to say I'm hooked. They are currently in use as a 2.0 home theater (if you would even consider it HT) and I pull them out into the room a bit on stands for music.

I'm really having some fun in this new to me world - thanks to all those who have given and shared knowledge. I used Peter's joinery layout and really benefited from his youtube videos. Hoping to build my SLS project half as nice as what Peter, Mike and others are able to build. Also, if you're new like me, all of Danny's videos are must see - I've learned a ton from those.

Well, time to head back to the workshop...
Mike - Fort Worth

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
Re: New member introduction
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jan 2021, 02:20 am »
Very nice! And welcome to AC!  :thumb: