Adding sources to Cyclops

Ice10

• Enjoy every sandwich
Adding sources to Cyclops
« on: 19 Oct 2020, 07:36 pm »
I’ve been using a Cyclops for several years now and up to this point haven’t been concerned with only being able to connect to one source.  I was looking in the ad section of the website and saw a Schiit SYS for sale which got me thinking.  Can something that simple be connected to my amp allowing me to connect to two sources if I ever want that in the future?  I could see it not being possible since the amp doesn’t have a switch to differentiate between two sources but I thought I would ask.
Thank you.

srb

Re: Adding sources to Cyclops
« Reply #1 on: 19 Oct 2020, 09:29 pm »
Yes, you could use the SYS to connect two sources to your Cyclops.

The signal would be routed through two volume controls though, and it's possible you might detect a slight reduction in sound quality.  You would probably want to max out the volume control on the SYS to lessen the effect.

Ice10

• Enjoy every sandwich
« Reply #2 on: 19 Oct 2020, 10:06 pm »
Thank you srb, I noticed that it has a volume control which as you mentioned could be turned up allowing me to use the amps volume to regulate the speakers volume.  Maybe I can find something more ‘passive’, ie, without volume control if I want to move forward down this path?  Or maybe its just another sign that I should move into separates?   :duh:

decal

« Reply #3 on: 19 Oct 2020, 11:05 pm »
I never understood the reason for only one input. I guess there's a niche market for it out there or he wouldn't make it. :scratch:

Ice10

• Enjoy every sandwich
« Reply #4 on: 19 Oct 2020, 11:12 pm »
I’m an oddball for sure, but I’ve only had a CD player attached (I’ve since replaced it with a streamer) so it’s been no big deal.  That Schiit got me thinking about other options however.

GeneS

« Reply #5 on: 19 Oct 2020, 11:25 pm »