Salk Sound/Rhythmic Subwoofer

Rocket

Salk Sound/Rhythmic Subwoofer
« on: 19 Apr 2013, 11:37 am »
Hi Guys,

Just wondering whether you can point me in the direction on detailed instructions for the rythmic subwoofer.  I have connected the subwoofer to my preamp via rca out to LFE in.  The line in wouldn't work but appears to be sounding quite good.  There are a lot of adjustments that can be made and the instructions are a little unclear for me. 

This is strictly a two channel system and I've never used a subwoofer before.

Cheers Rod

Nuance

Re: Salk Sound/Rhythmic Subwoofer
« Reply #1 on: 19 Apr 2013, 12:22 pm »
Which subwoofer did you get, and what preamp do you have?

Subwoofer input to preamp/receiver output. 

If you're using the crossover built into your preamp then turn the crossover dial all the way to the highest it will go on the Rythmik subwoofer.  Turn the subwoofer level (or gain) knob up to about 10-11 o'clock and adjust as necessary.  To adjust phase, play a sine wave of the same frequency that your crossover is at (if the crossover is 80Hz, play an 80Hz since wave) and have someone adjust the phase knob on the Rythmik while you sit in the listening position.  Leave the phase where the bass is the loudest.  You can use a SPL meter to help determine this if necessary.

You can also try the subwoofer crawl method in order to figure out where to place the Rythmik.  This entails placing the subwoofer in the listening position (perhaps on a chair), then crawling around the room during bass heavy passages and finding the spot in the room where the subwoofer sounds the best.  When you find that location that's the spot you'll place the subwoofer.

Gzerro

« Reply #2 on: 19 Apr 2013, 03:18 pm »
The best source of information I found on basic setup was the Rythmik website.