RM30M and Digital Crossovers

Hipper

RM30M and Digital Crossovers
« on: 1 Aug 2018, 07:15 pm »
I have RM30Ms made by Brian before he discovered the digital crossover, bought in 2006. These speakers have not been changed in anyway since but still work well.

I'm considering going active as my next upgrade (perhaps using a DEQX) and was wondering if learning to mess around with the internal crossover (I've no experience of this), and actually doing it, would be worth the effort considering the speaker's age? Would I be better off looking for new, more suitable speakers?

And secondly, do those that bought the active version with the Behringer DCX still use and enjoy them, or have you moved on?

Evoke

• Industry Participant
    • EVOKE Planar Loudspeakers
Re: RM30M and Digital Crossovers
« Reply #1 on: 1 Aug 2018, 07:45 pm »
I have RM30Ms made by Brian before he discovered the digital crossover, bought in 2006. These speakers have not been changed in anyway since but still work well.

I'm considering going active as my next upgrade (perhaps using a DEQX) and was wondering if learning to mess around with the internal crossover (I've no experience of this), and actually doing it, would be worth the effort considering the speaker's age? Would I be better off looking for new, more suitable speakers?

And secondly, do those that bought the active version with the Behringer DCX still use and enjoy them, or have you moved on?

http://pointillistic.com/vmps-audio/RM30.htm

Before you undertake the project - look at one you want to do as a minimum and a maximum. Work up a budget for each. It's a great speaker in a small footprint. Brian and I talked about this one for hours - I thought it was one of his more inspired designs.

So full range amp or bi-amp - the DEQX is incredible and flexible. You will assuredly get the best real world performance possible in your listening room. (Of course providing it is reasonably good acoustically.)