Daytons or Tang Band?

acwd1950

Daytons or Tang Band?
« on: 16 Nov 2011, 02:01 pm »
I am thinking about building a new pair of full range speakers. I have built a pair of BIBs using 4 inch tang bands. They are ok but I think a bigger full range driver would be better on the bass end. I am looking at the 6.5 or 8 inch daytons because of the efficiency. but dont know if the tang bands for a higher price would be better. Plan on driving these speakers with a 10 to 15 watt per channel or less. I got a RCA SET amp I would like to use and it is low power. What kind of box would be good for the daytons? folded horns? I am really new to full range group so opinions are needed. Here is a link to the driver I am thinking about using.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-346 or
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-344

Thanks
Steve

vilbig

Re: Daytons or Tang Band?
« Reply #1 on: 16 Nov 2011, 05:35 pm »

jparkhur

« Reply #2 on: 16 Nov 2011, 06:09 pm »
I have used both in chang, like the tb better.  Low end and ability to go to 20k is nice.  There is a rise in the area above 2 k u may want to take care of

acwd1950

« Reply #3 on: 19 Nov 2011, 01:07 pm »
Chang? Never heard of that? Got a link to some plans on that? I do like the looks of Curts design. May go that route.

Thanks
Steve

jparkhur

« Reply #4 on: 19 Nov 2011, 02:34 pm »
Search my name and go to frugal horn site...half chang pdf

acwd1950

« Reply #5 on: 20 Nov 2011, 05:33 pm »
Is this the design you used?
http://homepage.mac.com/tlinespeakers/FH/download/Half-Chang-map-170608.pdf

If so, did you use those dimensions or did you have to change them for the Daytons or TB?

Thanks
Steve

jparkhur

« Reply #6 on: 20 Nov 2011, 07:45 pm »