Visaton B200 Project

SteveRB

Visaton B200 Project
« on: 15 Feb 2013, 05:56 pm »
Hello,

I will be starting a Visaton B200 project very soon. My plan is to emulate a couple projects I have already seen online, including the Omega A8. I have the drivers from a previous OB project -- I know their sound (and like it). These are to be small room speakers for late night listening: no large SPL, no deep bass. I have spoken with several people regarding this project and have landed on a few specs: single driver, aperiodic vent, no XO, bedroom sized enclosure.

I am very new to designing enclosures. What I have found in my research is that aperiodic designs are not as specific in regards to dimensions and porting as other more complicated designs. A couple designers have recommended modelling the biggest sealed box I can and add the aperiodic vent.

I used a couple different methods for modelling my sealed enclosure and have come up with two Options: 1 is wide and shallow, 2 is narrow and deep. I would like to hear a couple pros and cons of each option... Both options would have one H-brace and be properly stuffed.

i am leaning towards option 1 for personal reasons. I plan to put the vents on the front (like the old Dynaco A25s). Just to allow me to push the speakers up against a wall if necessary.

I'm hoping people a little more experienced than me can chime in on my plans.

Thanks for looking.

SteveRB

Re: Visaton B200 Project
« Reply #1 on: 15 Feb 2013, 06:28 pm »
just a little more background.

here is a thread where I first presented the idea. I was looking for a set of plans -- now I see I will have to design my own.

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=113922.0

SteveRB

« Reply #2 on: 16 Feb 2013, 12:24 am »
Did a bit more work today; drew a quick mock up of the enclosure with braces and vents.

SteveRB

« Reply #3 on: 16 Feb 2013, 12:46 am »
fits nicely on one sheet of ply

richidoo

« Reply #4 on: 16 Feb 2013, 01:47 am »