Room Layout Feedback

MistyMtnHipHop

Room Layout Feedback
« on: 6 Apr 2023, 09:59 pm »
I am just beginning the planning of my first home theater multipurpose room.  This is an already finished basement so I’d rather not demo drywall or build walls, etc.

I would really appreciate any feedback on the best way to utilize this full basement space.  I’ve laid it out here with what my plan is but I could install the projector screen on any of the other walls as well.  Thanks!

Thoughts on speaker positioning and distances for both two channel listening and Atmos 7.1 theater?

HowieEng

Re: Room Layout Feedback
« Reply #1 on: 25 Aug 2023, 03:53 pm »
If you are ok having all that wasted space behind your listening area, the basic layout is pretty good. I am wondering if the subwoofer will cause your screen to move a little when sound low frequency sounds are present. You might want to wire for an alternate position - maybe on the side wall.

Howard Bandell
Electronics engineer and long time audiophile.

richidoo

Re: Room Layout Feedback
« Reply #2 on: 25 Aug 2023, 05:25 pm »
I am just beginning the planning of my first home theater multipurpose room.  This is an already finished basement so I’d rather not demo drywall or build walls, etc.

Definitely close off the big space near the stairs, so that the theater is symmetrical. That's the best thing you could do if you want good sound in there. A non load bearing wall is not a huge project for DIY.  It will be very difficult to tame the echo timing in that space without a wall. HT is very locational, so if sound echos are travelling an extra 30-50 feet they will be very delayed in time, and that's very distracting and noticeable.

Of course you will need some sort of acoustic damping on the walls, ceiling and floor to reduce midrange echo so you can hear the dialog and melodies clearly.