General Electric tubes

Golden_Era

General Electric tubes
« on: 28 Oct 2018, 09:02 pm »
Anyone have experience with these? I'm very new to the tube game and saw a vintage GE rectifier on ebay. Going in a tube preamp. Thanks for any help.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: General Electric tubes
« Reply #1 on: 28 Oct 2018, 09:09 pm »
Usually this brand was behind RCA in SQ, but made the best 211 imo.
Its 5 stars tubes are great, very reliable:
GE-1973 five stars special quality tubes for critical applications.
Low Current Rectifiers: 5726, 6919.
Full Wave Power Rectifiers: 6202, 6203, 6087.

cheech

« Reply #2 on: 28 Oct 2018, 10:48 pm »
I have GE 6L6GCs in my Line Magnetic 518 IA, and 12AX7s in my Finale Audio 7189 (ll) integrated amps; also have a 5AR4 rectifier, though haven't used it yet. They have been very reliable, noise free, and sound good. Recommend!

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #3 on: 29 Oct 2018, 03:51 am »
Agree, GE generally is a very good sounding tube, but not quite as good as RCA or Sylvania.  Although for a rectifier you're looking more for reliability than anything else, so GE should be more than fine for your needs.

Tom Bombadil

« Reply #4 on: 29 Oct 2018, 04:22 am »
It is difficult to say because tube companies bought tubes from each other and labeled them as their own.   Depends upon which tube you are asking about.  There are some GE-labeled tubes which are really Sylvania, and vice versa.  I've had some very good GE tubes, like 6L6GC, 6BQ5, 5751.   There are some GE-labeled 5AR4 rectifiers which were really made by Mullard. 

What type of rectifier do you have?

geowak

« Reply #5 on: 29 Oct 2018, 04:51 pm »