What is your go to Brahms?

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
What is your go to Brahms?
« on: 5 Feb 2014, 11:51 pm »
Years, decades, scores....In a century long, long ago I studied piano and remember my teacher talking about the Three B's- Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms. No beginning student escapes Bach, intermediates study Beethoven, but I never got to Brahms. 
I just picked up a 1952 recording of Brahms double concerto for violin and cello on Westminster WL 5117.  I've heard it said that Bach represents the mind of God, Mozart the majesty of God, and Beethoven shows His power.  If so, then this piece by Brahms shows the mature reflection of the beauty of God.  This is not especially one of his more celebrated composition, but encourage you to find a copy and listen to the last movement. 
What Brahms speaks to you? 

loki1957

Re: What is your go to Brahms?
« Reply #1 on: 6 Feb 2014, 12:08 am »
His Requiem

rotarius

« Reply #2 on: 6 Feb 2014, 12:21 am »
Sonata for cello & piano, Op.38
Symphony No. 4

THROWBACK

« Reply #3 on: 6 Feb 2014, 12:24 am »
Gosh. Hard to pick just one. As a poor but mediocre pianist I find myself drawn to that part of his output, especially his B-min Rhapsody, which I was able to manage in pretty-OK fashion once upon a time. Try his 2nd Piano Concerto as well--Rubinstein or Van Cliburn. I agree about the Double Concerto: you might try the Heifetz/Piatagorski version. Requiem also. The 1st Piano Quartet is also wonderful, particularly the andante movement which may be really a love song for Clara Schumann.

rklein

• My finest audio piece ever!!
« Reply #4 on: 6 Feb 2014, 01:59 am »
String Quartets performed by the Cleveland Quartet.
Brahms Symphonies performed by the Cleveland Orchestra conducted by George Szell
Brahms Sonatas in Eb Major (Number 2) and f Minor (Number 1)  performed by Martin Frost

Regards,

Randy

Ericus Rex

« Reply #5 on: 6 Feb 2014, 02:03 am »
His Requiem