Greeting from Japan.

bassmothership

Greeting from Japan.
« on: 21 May 2020, 04:26 am »
Hi there.

I'm a bedroom mixing engineer. Absolute noob in acoustics. I need help with sound absorption (specifically to tame the range below 200Hz) and learn ways to DIY my own panels without using any Mineral Wool material.
I wanna learn about the options of "healthy" materials that can make my bedroom stop fooling my ears too much. :cry:

To add to the difficult of doing this work is that, Japan seems to be in the stone age of acoustic treatment.
There's not much happening here regarding home studio DIYers, (there are no companies coming up with effective Bass Traps solutions, credible audio forums, etc...)
People here basically follow the trend and instead of DIYing acoustic panels and bass traps, they spend money with foam materials. (Auralex stuff is everywhere here). There are some DIYers working with mineral wool here and there, and that's basically it.

In other words, I'm totally on my own here.

Hope I can get much needed help and education here.
Here's attached my mixing room plan.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Greeting from Japan.
« Reply #1 on: 21 May 2020, 04:35 am »
Welcome  :thumb:
I came to good results with the car hood brown blanket 15mm.

Wind Chaser

« Reply #2 on: 21 May 2020, 05:28 am »
Welcome to Audio Circle.  :D

Maybe a volunteer can move this inquiry where it will get more attention, like...

https://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?board=73.0

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #3 on: 21 May 2020, 05:37 am »

Maybe a volunteer can move this inquiry where it will get more attention, like...

Moved as requested.

bassmothership