Continuum Review

Audio Architect

Continuum Review
« on: 13 Mar 2004, 11:51 pm »
Last weekend I had the opportunity to audition the Continuums at the home of Mike Patterson the vice president of SP Technology. Both Bob Smith the president, and Mike were present. Talk about pressure; imagine Bob standing behind me with his samurai sword and Mike beside me with a basket to catch my head in the event that I did not like the speakers. Actually Bob, Mike and their wives were very gracious hosts and I am sure that Bob has enough confidence in his products to be reasonable sure that I would like them.

About the Reviewer

Before I continue with the review let me tell you a little about myself, and what prompted my interest in SP Technology. I am an architect who has been interested in audio for over 30 years.  When I was in college I designed and built a 3-way transmission line speaker system using an ElectoVoice horn tweeter and midrange and an ElectoVoice woofer.  Each enclosure was five feet tall by 16 inches square and weighed over 200 pounds.  I'm reasonably sure that my transmission line was not designed properly but I gave it my best shot at the time.  At that point in my life I was probably not a very sophisticated listener, but I did like the way horns sounded, especially compared to some of the other affordable speakers available at the time.  Shortly after completing those speakers I was exposed to and ultimately purchased speakers manufactured by Fulton Musical Industries. I was also made aware of the virtues of Dynaco and Audio Research tube equipment. Fulton speakers were designed by Robert Fulton, a recording engineer who has been credited as being one of the founders of the high end.  Bob passed away years ago and with him Fulton Musical Industries. I still own FMI 100’s and an Audio Research D76a (tube amplifier).  More recently I have added two Sunfire subwoofers, a Pioneer PD 65 transport, a Perceptual Technologies digital to analog converter and an Aud