Caveman Grill

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
Caveman Grill
« on: 20 Jul 2020, 04:59 am »
I just got back from a week-long hiking and camping trip to Idaho and my Caveman Grill was waiting for me! :dance:  As you can see from the link it's a gas infrared top broiler that cranks out temps of 1,500 degrees F!  I've been wanting something like this and was almost ready to drop some larger cash when I discovered this little gem.  The cooking surface is small, about 65 square inches.  Basically it's big enough for one steak of almost any size or two fat burgers.  So far I've only had a chance to cook on it once but I'm impressed.  I haven't dug out my infrared thermometer but it feels like it's making the advertised heat.  After about 90 seconds my 2" thick sirloin had a great char on the top.

Time will tell how it holds up but right now I'm over the moon.  As a chef I can achieve results in the commercial kitchen that are hard to duplicate at home with home-type gear.  I was once Executive Chef at a place with a large infrared with a convection setting that could hit almost 1,800 F! :o  You simply can't get the same kind of char on a steak with the 700-800 degree max temps of a regular gas or charcoal grill.

Again, we'll see how it holds up but for $125 or so it's a great pickup! :thumb:

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
Re: Caveman Grill
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jul 2020, 05:21 am »
:o  That is SERIOUSLY COOL!

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
« Reply #2 on: 20 Jul 2020, 05:36 am »
Hahaha, yeah! :lol:  Especially for the money.  I have to get a rolling cart to put it on, looking on Amazon now.  But in my limited time with it I'm really impressed. 8)

stlrman

« Reply #3 on: 20 Jul 2020, 03:02 pm »
Just watched a bunch of YT videos . This thing is awesome !!! I want one !!!!
Do you buy a camping can of gas to hook it to
Thanks !!

woodsyi

• Facilitator
  • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life!
« Reply #4 on: 20 Jul 2020, 03:29 pm »