Narrow sweet spot with maggies?

ajmac

Narrow sweet spot with maggies?
« on: 7 Sep 2015, 07:27 pm »
Hi All,

I'm a newbie is A/C. I started off searching for a pair of better speakers to play classical music and hope to enjoy it with the family. You can find my posts in the 'Open baffle' circle.

I went to a local dealer to listen to the maggies. I spent about 30 minutes on the 0.7 and 90 minutes on the 1.7i. For sure, the 1.7i have a fuller presentation of an orchestra. Both speakers are driven by a Naim SuperNait2 (80w/ch). The amp and the 1.7i were able to present a couple of my favorite concertos with the expected size of the concert hall and the fullness of most of the instruments. I believe the room was well treated with all sorts of acoustic panels, and there was 2.5 to 3 feet behind the maggies. It was a very enjoyable experience, especially the presentation on the string instruments. They just sound more real and natural than my monitor speakers. But with the piano concerto, the presentation seems to have a little less with the 'attack' yet the ambient of the hall was very good. And with other jazz pieces as well as some test tracks that contain more precussion passages, the 'attack' seemed to be satisfying (ie, I didn't feel the need of looking for them).

After coming back to reality, I started to search for reviews and used equipments for the new set of maggie 1.7i and the Naim integrated are way over my budget. I saw a review on 'enjoy the music' (I think) on the 3.6, the reviewer seem to commenting the maggies tend to have narrow sweet spot comparing to cone speakers: is this your experience?

Enjoy the remainder of the long weekend with your music.

SteveFord

• Facilitator
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
Re: Narrow sweet spot with maggies?
« Reply #1 on: 7 Sep 2015, 08:05 pm »
The reviewer probably had the tweeters on the inside with considerable toe-in.
I wouldn't pay him much attention.