The last speaker I will ever own?

The Rascal KING

The last speaker I will ever own?
« on: 6 Jun 2013, 02:42 pm »
Hi!
Ive been haunting this and other forums for a couple of years now looking to upgrade my system from bookshelf to towers. I like to get as much feed back as possible and absolutely KNOW that I am getting the right speaker. I simply do not have the money to audition speakers and like most people on this forum I want the most for my hard earned money.

With that out of the way, I am looking for movie/music speakers about 80/20. Since these are probably going to be the last speakers I get for the next 20 years; I want something that is full range, efficient enough for tube amp if I want to start getting into vinyl, and build well enough to handle whatever I want to throw at it from hip hop to classical.

With all that in mind, my target speaker is going to be the Tekton Lore. I thought about the smaller M-lore but for a few hundred more I can get the full range Lore. I could save up another year or two to get the Pen Dragons, but I just don't want to wait any longer.

Is this the best route or is there a new contender in the $1k range?

Current system:
NHT Super Ones
Energy ES8 sub
Denon 1913

Past equipment:
Acoustic Research AR 310HO

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
Re: The last speaker I will ever own?
« Reply #1 on: 8 Jun 2013, 02:44 am »
Check availability, but yes these are highly regarded by reviewers and owners alike.  Not sexy but they're highly efficient and offer great content value. 

Most hardcore HT fans wouldn't be satisfied with response only down to 30 Hz though, however at this price you'd be hard pressed to do better with your criteria. 

Last speakers for 20 years?  Hard to say.

By the way, you don't need tubes to enjoy vinyl.

yeldarb

« Reply #2 on: 10 Jun 2013, 03:29 pm »