Hello from North East Indiana

Ccook1065

Hello from North East Indiana
« on: 1 May 2021, 09:14 pm »
Hello all - I am a newbie and have been interested in the designs by Danny as my entry point to get back in to the world of audiophiles. I am running an Adcom 5800 with two Acoustic Research AR-9 (Hi-Res) floor speakers. I have just purchased the X-Voce kit today. I am looking forward to this as my first build. I really want to build the X-Statics, so I  am sure this kit will help me make the leap or change my mind. 

I got interested in audio again after a long absence. I was a teenager when I bought my Acoustic Research speakers. I worked at an electronics store and they were almost their best pair available. I had been moving them from house to house for the last 15-16 years and not even hooking them up. My father in law happened to buy a new amp and I took his old Adcom off his hands to see if my speakers would still play. Turns out they do! And I remembered instantly how much I love just listening to music. I’m looking forward to the journey and love the content from Danny on social media.

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Hello from North East Indiana
« Reply #1 on: 1 May 2021, 09:20 pm »
Welcome to AC   :thumb:

Marbles

« Reply #2 on: 2 May 2021, 12:35 am »
Welcome Ccook, I'm in Fort Fun!!!

Ccook1065

« Reply #3 on: 2 May 2021, 04:24 am »
I’m about 40 minutes north of the fort. Awesome to know there are like minded folks nearby!

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #4 on: 2 May 2021, 11:43 am »
Welcome!  I went to college in Angola, about the time of your AR-9's.  In fact have a used ARS-500 15 inch ported subwoofer that I use in my AV system that works very well.