I'm New To Audio...How Much Does A Good System Cost ?

lonewolfny42

• Speakers....What Speakers ?
Looking over the questions that a new person to audio might ask...I think this would be one of the first.

IMO....set a budget, and try to stick with it if your just starting out.

So...in your experience, when you first bought your "new system"....how much did you budget ?

Thanks..... :thumb:

Tweaker

Re: I'm New To Audio...How Much Does A Good System Cost ?
« Reply #1 on: 8 Sep 2007, 05:37 am »
$225.00!
That was back in 1973. For that grand sum of money I got a brand new pair of AR 7's, an H.H.Scott 25WPC receiver purchased directly from H.H.Scott on one of their scratch and dent sales they had on Fridays, and God help me if I can remember the turntable/cartridge combo but it was a cheap one! I don't know what that would translate to in todays dollars but that was a remarkable sounding little system for the money.

lonewolfny42

• Speakers....What Speakers ?
« Reply #2 on: 8 Sep 2007, 05:43 am »
Thanks tweaker.... :thumb:

I don't know what that would translate to in todays dollars but that was a remarkable sounding little system for the money.

I sometimes use this......so....$225.00 = $1041.00 in todays dollars....according to their calculation....

Tweaker

« Reply #3 on: 8 Sep 2007, 06:17 am »
I have to add that that was back in the days when you hooked everything up with lamp cord and whatever cheap patch cords that you could find. Even so I think $1000.00 and change is enough to put together a really decent system. Especially if you go the high efficiency route using, for example, a Tripath amp.

WGH

« Reply #4 on: 8 Sep 2007, 06:31 am »