what not to do on red wine olive

alinto

what not to do on red wine olive
« on: 20 Apr 2007, 11:58 pm »
I have been using a red wine olive symphony for about 6 months now.  I use it as a transport for my emm lab dcc2 dac. I have loaded my music to an external hard drive in wave files using EAC. I usually turn on the olive 1st. Then, as it is booting up, I turn on the hard drive. By the time the olive boots up, the hard drive is already on the menu - saving me some time.  Today when I proceeded to turn on my stereo system the usual way, the olive remained on the loading screen although I could hear the external hard drive working. It remained this way for much longer than usual. I finally turned off the olive and external hard drive. When I turned them both back on, it appeared normal except that I have lost 2/3 of my files. I check the hard drive on my computer and the files are missing with also corrupted files that I can see.  The hard drive appears to be fine at least according to windows.  I will have to reformat the drive and load by all my music. The moral of the story. Let the olive boot up fully before turning on the hard drive. And oh yeh do back ups.

Vinnie R.

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.vinnierossi.com
What not to do on an Olive Music Server
« Reply #1 on: 21 Apr 2007, 07:07 pm »
Hi Alinto,

Welcome to Audiocircle. 

I moved this topic from the RWA forum to the square circle because what you describe is not related to the RWA Olive Music Server modification... the same thing can happen with a stock Olive.  The topic could be changed to "What not to do on an Olive Music Server."  :wink:   

ALso, I want everyone to be able to see your post... even those who have stock Olive Music Servers (and those who don't visit the RWA forum), and I don't want anyone to think that what you experienced is only for RWA modded Olive units.