Testing: amps that won't damage the drivers (Zenith 49CZetc)

windupman

Hi everyone,

This topic probably has been covered ad nauseum, so please forgive me if that's the case. I'm trying to test out some OB speakers that I'm building with my kids. I'm completely new to things audio.

With an active crossover (dbx 233) to test the crossover points, I want to tri-amp my quasi-Lampizator-Px speaker idea. Please keep in mind that everything I'm talking about is based on what I've read. I've barely heard an open-baffle speaker, let alone a DIY system.

Drivers are:

High/mid: Jensen RP-108 horns. Supposedly originally crossed at 800hz with a full/mid-range. 12 ohm. I don't know the sensitivity, nor do I know how to test it.
Full/mid: Zenith 49CZ860/1. I have read that they are sensitive to 97db and 8 ohm. Again, I don't know exactly.
Low: 2x Eminence 292-2008. Early seventies 15", alinco-magnet woofers pulled from Allen Organs. I bought four of them on eBay probably after a drink or two and I don't know anything about them.

I've read that people are powering the Zeniths with 2 watt tube amps and I know that the Jensen horns were powered by a low-wattage Magnavox tube amp (I have it and may use it).

The idea I had was to buy a $100 used multi-channel power amp to test the crossover points. I looked at a few Elan Z series amps and the like. I worry that anything over 30watts/channel will be too much, but I don't know. Can anyone help?

Thanks,
David

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Testing: amps that won't damage the drivers (Zenith 49CZetc)
« Reply #1 on: 14 Mar 2020, 04:11 am »
These drivers are hi efficiency n o % and SPL, propable 96dB or more, you will need Little power indeed according your room size, for testing you will need even fewer W. There is no way to re-cone these beautiful drivers.