For your consideration.

Obie

For your consideration.
« on: 25 Apr 2003, 02:43 pm »
Friends,

Thanks so much for welcoming us into this excellent forum.  It’s been a pleasure to meet and correspond with the folks on this board.  I have a deep respect for the fun atmosphere and positive attitude reflected throughout this community.  We are very grateful for these relationships.

Before Eighth Nerve was started, I was a professional singer, conductor, and high-school music teacher.  Matters of rehearsal acoustics came to my attention when building a new classroom.  I’ve grown to be a passionate advocate for individuals taking control of their sound environments.  While not exactly germane to hi-fi reproduction, I thought I’d offer another part of our business to you all in the hopes that we can help people outside the hobby to find better sound and better health.  

For the musicians here, I pose a question.  Have you ever been in a rehearsal space that seemed actually conducive to making music?  In the overwhelming majority, the answer is NO.  Band, orchestra, and choir rooms are almost invariably chambers of aural horror where the acoustic foils playing, singing, and making ensemble.  In many circumstances, musicians are putting their hearing health in jeopardy, destroying the sense that gives them joy and defines their life!

Acoustic control is needed in countless restaurants, shops, office buildings, waiting rooms, etc.  In all these places, creating a pleasant sound environment would improve productivity, decrease fatigue, and frequently increase business.  People rarely exercise the same control over their acoustic environment that they command over lighting, decorating, and other aspects of their spaces.