High-End AVRs vs vintage integrated amps for vinyl playback

kwatz

Audiophile noob here. Can any AVR receivers in in $2-$3K range match the sound quality for vinyl of a good vintage integrated amp? Trying to upgrade my home theater and use only a single amp, but don't want to lose much of the beautiful performance my current system is giving me for music. I'll also be using this for playback of lossless digital audio.

For reference I'm working with a Sansui AU-D9 integrated amp and a Blue Circle Audio BC27pi phono stage with a Rega Planar 3 turntable. I'm currently eyeing a Denon 6700H to replace the Sansui with. Will still be using the phono preamp.

toocool4

Re: High-End AVRs vs vintage integrated amps for vinyl playback
« Reply #1 on: 21 Dec 2020, 05:39 pm »
Why don’t you try and get a good stand alone phonostage and run your turntable that way to your AVR?

Not sure how good the Blue Circle Audio BC27pi phonostage is?

I.Greyhound Fan

« Reply #2 on: 21 Dec 2020, 06:36 pm »
It is  hard to say which would be better.  Marantz  may give you more of a vintage sound.  They have a house sound which is slightly warmer, darker, fuller with a tonally rich and romantic tone.  If you go the AVR route, consider spending closer to $3k.  I recently auditioned a Marantz KI Ruby Reference integrated amp and it was fabulous.  The tone was stunning.  I also listened to the Model 30 which was disappointing.  I own a marantz receiver, an sr-4023 and I use to own the NA-11s1 dac. Both have the house sound.

Larry

kwatz

« Reply #3 on: 21 Dec 2020, 06:44 pm »
Why don’t you try and get a good stand alone phonostage and run your turntable that way to your AVR?

Not sure how good the Blue Circle Audio BC27pi phonostage is?