Looking to buy used skiing gear...where on the web to look, and a little advice?

maxwalrath

Title is pretty self explanatory.  I'm a little above a beginner and just started feeling comfortable enough to go down most blue trails without too much nervousness...  I feel like I've used different sized skis and not noticed too much of a difference, but that's just because I didn't really know what I was doing.

The main piece of gear I'm looking for is a pair of ski boots... I need something to fit size 15.5 feet.  I've always borrowed skis and poles from friends/family when skiing, but had to rent boots that were 2-3 sizes too small (which makes for a shitty feeling in the feet, let me tell you).  I'd like to own my own skis and poles too, and would appreciate any advice on ski length and pole size (I'm 6'3", 240lbs), but barring a really sweet deal the boots would take first priority.  What web sites do have you guys had luck with buying / selling stuff?  Is there anyone out there with huge feet and an extra pair of boots?

ton1313

Check out your local sport shop, and see if they have any "new" old stock. You can get some great deals that way. I would not personally buy used boots as the padding will eventually pack down to form to the previous owners feet. Nothing worse on the mountain than ill fitting boots, you end up with cold feet, and the outing ends early.

woodsyi

• Volunteer
  • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life!
Good fitting boots make skiing so much more enjoyable.  Wait for the end of season or summer sale and get a good new pair.  You want your feet to shape the liner.  I always liked the Technica boots.  Unless you are racing or real aggressive and technical, go for the all mountain boots which are more comfortable than the racing boots. 

woodsyi

• Volunteer
Then there is E-bay. 

http://cgi.ebay.com/33.5-Salomon-Performa-size-15.5-US-ski-boots-Ship-FREE_W0QQitemZ270357452768QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ20090313?IMSfp=TL090313134009r16469