NX STUDIO SPEAKERS

jmac

NX STUDIO SPEAKERS
« on: 30 Jul 2021, 07:37 pm »
Hi, I'm a newbie. I'm waiting for an NX Studio order. I'm going to need some help along the way. Glad to join the circle, thanks!

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
Re: NX STUDIO SPEAKERS
« Reply #1 on: 30 Jul 2021, 08:47 pm »
Welcome aboard. Ask away. That's what we're here for

Mike

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #2 on: 31 Jul 2021, 04:41 am »
Welcome aboard and feel free the ask any questions you may have!
We're here to help!  :thumb:

jmac

« Reply #3 on: 29 Sep 2021, 07:29 pm »
Hello, just a quick question. Has anyone used a pin nailer along with the glue before clamping up the flat packs? Thanks John

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #4 on: 30 Sep 2021, 12:34 am »
I'm not aware of anyone who did that, but I think there was one person that used nails or screws if I remember correctly.

Peter J

• Hmmmm
« Reply #5 on: 30 Sep 2021, 02:53 pm »
Hello, just a quick question. Has anyone used a pin nailer along with the glue before clamping up the flat packs? Thanks John

Can I assume you're thinking of an aid to kinda hold things together till you get clamps on? And by pins you mean 23ga or similar?

IME, pins can shank out in weird ways on dense MDF, which Jay's flat packs are. The longer they are the worse things get. Aside from that, I've actually had them interfere with clamping and alignment. Also, if they're in eventual machining path, they're not kind to cutters. I like them for some things, but wouldn't use them in this case.

FWIW, when I first got a pinner, I tried to use in many applications that I eventually moved away from. They are useful, but like many tools, they have both strong and weak points.

jmac

« Reply #6 on: 30 Sep 2021, 03:40 pm »
Makes sense not to use it as the mdf is so dense . Thanks for the responses

JWCoffman

« Reply #7 on: 1 Oct 2021, 03:53 am »