There will be no VANDERSTEEN 9's.

ctsooner

There will be no VANDERSTEEN 9's.
« on: 5 Jan 2016, 02:50 pm »
It's been scrapped, because Richard just doesn't want to put out a larger more expensive speaker just to make some money. I'll post more when I get back home in a few days, but I thought I'd share a bit as to why.
It was to be based on the Seven Mk II, but for very large rooms.  They would have been able to be played very loudly for those who want to share with the neighbors (the 7 mk II play as loud in a large room as anyone would ever need).  The multiple drivers required to do this smeared the music so badly that the emotion and magic of the 7's was lost. What many don't realize is that the more drivers that are used the more difficult it is to implement without smearing the sound waves. It's basic physics I was told, but I'm not an engineer.  The project is canceled, because Richard won't design a speaker that he wouldn't own even if he may lose the top end of the market, because seem folks won't listen to an amazing speaker that can do it all, if it's not over 100k and isn't huge and over built.
I'm sure he's working on other projects as the company grows, but this shows that he'll only come to market with great gear we all love.

darthlaker

Re: There will be no VANDERSTEEN 9's.
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jan 2016, 04:11 am »
Thanks for the post!

Looking forward to your next post on this topic!

Cheers

ctsooner

« Reply #2 on: 12 Jan 2016, 03:30 pm »
I'm sure that Richard's working on other equipment and upgrades.  The small upgrades he did on the 7's sure seem to have made a huge difference and at that level we all know it's not easy.