Dead silent dedicated Linux music server for USB DAC's.

Bill Wayson

Re: Dead silent dedicated Linux music server for USB DAC's.
« Reply #820 on: 17 Jan 2013, 09:28 pm »
clog,
     Thanks for your reply.  I'd like to spend what is necessary for a good DAC, but funds are tight right now.  I've done some research, and it appears that I ought to avoid the Alix boards with built-in VGA for EMI reasons.  So, it looks like the 3D3 is out.  I will look at the DAC you suggest -- $150 might be doable.  I've also seen recommendations for the Hifimediy Sabre USB DAC, around $50 US, as a good, cheap DAC.  I'll compare the two.

Bluebeat

« Reply #821 on: 8 Oct 2013, 11:09 am »
Hi everybody,

This thread seems abandoned, but since it's topic is spot on, I'll use it for my first post on Audio Circle: I really need some help regarding the setup of my Voyage MPD starter kit.

I'm a total newbie regarding Linux, so maybe I shouldn't have tried MPD in the first place, but ... I still did, please be patient!

My music files (flacs) are on a Synology ds213, IP 192.168.0.107. NFS rights for MPD (IP 192.168.0.108) are contributed to the share, baptised 'muzieknas'.

Using Putty I tried to follow the steps in par. 4.1 of the Getting Started Guide that I got with my starter kit from Punky.

I managed to change the fstab using vi, and added:
192.168.0.107:/volume1/muzieknas /mnt/muzieknas nfs rw,noatime   0   0

Then:
# mkdir /mnt/muzieknas
# mount -a

Then:
# ln -s /mnt/muzieknas/  /var/lib/mpd/music/muzieknas

Then:
# chmod -R ugo+r /mnt/muzieknas

After the last step, MPD stated:   
chmod: changing permissions of `/mnt/muzieknas/': Operation not permitted

After that all the music files were found but with every file MPD stated:
chmod: changing permissions of `/mnt/muzieknas/King Crimson/Red/Starless.flac':                                                                                         Operation not permitted

What did I do wrong? What did I miss?

Can someone here help me?