Looking for a used DSLR Canon recommendation

Emil

Looking for a used DSLR Canon recommendation
« on: 15 Jun 2018, 11:34 am »
Looking for an all purpose camera for amateur use.  BODY ONLY. $300 tops.

Looking to get the most for the money.

Thanks

Yun66

Re: Looking for a used DSLR Canon recommendation
« Reply #1 on: 15 Jun 2018, 12:52 pm »
I'd look into Canon 40D, 50D or 60D. I got a 40D when it first came out. It's a 10.1 mp camera. I could easily make 8x10" prints. If you mainly show your photos on screen, it would be more than enough. Later generations have higher pix counts. My current camera is 6D, a full frame, but still have the 40D as my backup.  Although you may get a used cheaper on eBay, I recommend B&H Photo and Video. It's a very reputable pro camera shop. They usually ship free and no tax if you're outside NY. I've been shopping there for about 30 years, very happy with them.

Emil

« Reply #2 on: 15 Jun 2018, 12:57 pm »
Thanks Yun66

So these would be a much better camera than say a used Canon T6 at the same price?

Goosepond

• Virna!
« Reply #3 on: 15 Jun 2018, 01:44 pm »
Hi Emil,

So are you interested in a fixed lens camera or are you looking to start buying a variety of different focal-length lenses and all that that entails. Now that I see that you said body only, I'll assume the latter and go away quietly.  :thumb:

I also just noticed you said DSLR! I pretty much agree with the first reply. I still have an old 10D and a well used 1Ds2 and a mess of lenses of all focal-lengths.

Gene

Yun66

« Reply #4 on: 15 Jun 2018, 03:12 pm »
Sorry, I wish I could answer that question. It really depends on what you want from a camera.   :D