RM 9 MK II slight static in the right channel

dhunte21

RM 9 MK II slight static in the right channel
« on: 16 Feb 2013, 12:35 pm »
Good Day,

I have a slight problem with my RM 9 MK II. IT seems as though, the easiest what to explain is a sort of static or popping noise in my right channel. First off I am an experience tech and have worked on many amp in the past. The noise used to go away as the amp heated up but it does not any longer. For starters it does not increase with volume.  I did change out all 4 of the pots. I swapped out the left and right tubes in both input and out put stage. I checked for any cold solder joints. It cant seem to find anything.

Have anyone here experienced a similar problem. 

Any Information will help..

Thank you in advance.

underdawg

• Industry Participant
Re: RM 9 MK II slight static in the right channel
« Reply #1 on: 16 Feb 2013, 12:48 pm »
time to check for leaking capacitors or just recap the amp which it may need anyway.

Freo-1

« Reply #2 on: 16 Feb 2013, 01:03 pm »
I had a Citation II that had the same type of problem.  Had to replace the coupling caps on the suspect channel. 

If the unit has some hours on it, may be be best to re-cap the entire unit.  Age and heat do catch up with all caps.

Ericus Rex

« Reply #3 on: 16 Feb 2013, 02:18 pm »
Check all the tracings on the PCB, they are delicate.  If you've rolled the drivers you may have loosened up the solder joints around the tube sockets.  A very common issue with this amp.  When you get the static, try lightly tapping on the tubes in the noisy channel to isolate.

dhunte21

« Reply #4 on: 16 Feb 2013, 03:57 pm »