CD/DVD for $1500 system

mjohnson

CD/DVD for $1500 system
« on: 26 Nov 2005, 03:57 am »
I have ordered the $1500 system from Klaus (very pumped!) and would like to know what CD players or DVD players are best for this system.  I am fairly new with the high end lingo, but I'm intriqued by all the options available.  I did not realize that CD players could cost so much.  I see ads for cheapy Samsung players that will get get modded for $500 and be made to sound like $11K players.  Is this for real?  I currently have an old Sony that will have to suffice for the burn in, but I have a feeling that I'll want something better very soon.  I would prefer a DVD player for convenience, BUT, I bought the Odyssey primarily for music.  

Thanks for all replies.

BikeWNC

CD/DVD for $1500 system
« Reply #1 on: 26 Nov 2005, 04:13 am »
Before anyone can offer an opinion, of which there will be many, how much $ do you want to spend?

bunky

Re: CD/DVD for $1500 system
« Reply #2 on: 26 Nov 2005, 04:41 am »
Quote from: mjohnson
I have ordered the $1500 system from Klaus (very pumped!) and would like to know what CD players or DVD players are best for this system.  I am fairly new with the high end lingo, but I'm intriqued by all the options available.  I did not realize that CD players could cost so much.  I see ads for cheapy Samsung players that will get get modded for $500 and be made to sound like $11K players.  Is this for real?  I currently have an old Sony that will have to suffice for the burn in, but I have a feeling that ...
Congradulations on the new system.BikeWNC is right in asking about what your price range will be. do you want a tube CD player ? upsampling perhaps ? or a basic CD player with a decent inboard DAC ? or do you want a transport with an outboard DAC ? if you throw out a price range that you are comfortable with you will get some good suggestions.thanks....WCW III

djbnh

CD/DVD for $1500 system
« Reply #3 on: 26 Nov 2005, 05:25 am »