best ways of interconnecting

beat

« on: 21 Feb 2003, 03:51 am »
Hello all,
I'm new to this HT stuff. How do you all suggest interconnecting your gear? I'm getting mixed feedback. Optical, S, component, digital, composite, It is alittle greek to me. I understand component is best for picture quality, but do I go through my amp first? or straight to the TV? What about the audio? I'm setting up for 6.1
Thanks for your time, beat

bubba966

« Reply #1 on: 21 Feb 2003, 04:14 am »
For the audio part of things you'll want to use a Digital Coax cable, not a Digital Optical cable if possible. Exceptions being if you've got AT&T Glass Digital connectors. But the AT&T connection is very, very rare (and terribly expensive). And a good quality Digital Coax cable WILL make a hell of a big difference in your sound quality. I'd suggest a Digital from Bolder Cables. I'm sure the Bolder Digital with the Copper Eichmann Bullets is great, but I've had Wayne build all of mine with Silver Eichmann Bullets & a cryo treatment.

As far as the video goes (DVD's only), yes Component is generally better than S. And S is better than Composite. If you've only got one source you'll be using Component Video with then run it straight to your display. Most processors/receivers don't have a problem with Component Video switching if you need to use more than one source on Component.