Starting out with a new system

takashi78

Starting out with a new system
« on: 16 May 2008, 01:56 am »
Hi all,

Hope you guys can help me out here. This is my first time getting a home hifi system and came across this brand.
My budget is below 10k for everything, CDP,AMP,PreAmp (if possible) and speakers with wires n interconnect.

I am looking for a system that can play a mix of all musics but musics i don not listen to are techno and rock.

Any ideas on which setup i should go for?
What are some nice bookshelf speakers that go well with this brand of amp?
Also any place which i can audition them before buying?
I live in KL.

Cheers!
Peter

takashi78

Re: Starting out with a new system
« Reply #1 on: 16 May 2008, 07:27 am »
Wow so many views and no suggestions? :green:

supergroverd

« Reply #2 on: 16 May 2008, 07:44 am »
I ordered a whole system from Nicholas. Hopefully it will arrive in th comming weeks (I have been waiting quiet a while  :() I will let you know how my findings as soon as I have listned to it.
By the way are you going analog or digital?

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #3 on: 16 May 2008, 10:33 am »
Welcome,

What's "KL"?

If this is your first foray into hi-end audio, you should first learn to appreciate music (a step that nearly all of us skip unfortunately).  Listen to live music (unamplified is the best as it the purest "gold standard" and you won't be listening through someone else's equipment).  Nearby colleges often have free performances and offer classes in music appreciation.  Next learn the audio lingo and attributes.  Auditioning equipment, hanging out on the web, attending any local audiophile gatherings, and visiting audio shows are all great ways to do this.  Then decide what aspects of music and audio are important or not to you as an individual.