Novice but really want to build a pair of speakers>> HT3 with built crossover?

bbchem

:roll:

I am a total novice to speaker building, I would love to try and build a pair of high end speakers such as the HT3, If I bought the parts and added the assembled crossover and cabinets, would it be easy to build?? Hate to spend $1100 and ruin them. I have never even soldered before and can't do much handyman stuff. Anyother suggestions welcome   aa

Thanks,Bill

S Clark

The cabinets are the hardest part.  Perhaps you might build a design that would let you use pre-built cabinets from Madisound or PartsExpress.  It would increase the cost but would save tons of headaches and labor- especially if you haven't done this before.
Or, GR-Research lets you buy a kit plus a precut front baffle.  All you have to do is cut the rest of the box (the easiest part) and assemble.

gjs_cds

Cabinets are pretty tough to get right (and have look great) the first go 'round.  It all depends on who much you can spend on tools. 

You'll need a plunge router, and some type of circle cutting jig.  A nice sander.  And, at the very least, a circular saw.

But truth be told, MDF is very shape-able, so even if the cuts aren't perfect--if you're patient and have a good sander... you can buff a whole lot of sins out.

Further--there are some finishing techniques that look great and conceal imperfections.  One common example is using truck-bed-liner (super-thick spray paint).  I've done this and have had great results.  Another option would be to use a vinyl veneer, which can look good and is also easy to apply.
« Last Edit: 9 Sep 2007, 10:02 pm by gjs_cds »

RAW

:roll: