Distributed music

aceinc

Distributed music
« on: 26 Nov 2022, 10:47 pm »
I am an audio hobbyist. I have about 6 systems mostly analog throughout my home. I also have ~6.600 flac files (I also have quite a stack of the original CDs) on a computer on my network. My goal is to be able to easily access the FLAC files from any of the systems. I could move a notebook computer from system to system, and I do this sometimes.

What I would really like is multiple small inexpensive device which I can plug into all of the systems which I could control from a PC, tablet or phone (Android, I do not do Apple and will not have any in my home). They would then need to talk with some flavor of a media server running on Windows.

Streaming from services would be a nice add-on, but I do not have any subscriptions at present so it is not a requirement. I have a secure WiFi network everything would run on. I have wired ethernet to a number of the locations as well.

I should have started doing this 20 years ago, but here I am.

What recommendations are there based on the above?

I am not afraid of technology, but since I work with it daily, I prefer not to get up to my derrière in it as part of my hobby, so simple is good.

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Re: Distributed music
« Reply #1 on: 26 Nov 2022, 10:49 pm »
Roon will do this.

aceinc

« Reply #2 on: 27 Nov 2022, 02:31 am »
Roon will do this.
Knowing nothing about Roon, is it something one can put together without spending hours/days/weeks on a learning curve?

I know there is a dichotomy in what I am asking, inexpensive, easy to configure & use. Usually in technology these are seldom in the same "product."

Where can I get enough information to determine its viability without "learning how to build a clock?"

aceinc

« Reply #3 on: 27 Nov 2022, 02:43 am »
Roon will do this.