Ovens.... gas or electric?

JohnR

« on: 13 Mar 2005, 01:48 pm »
Um....  :oops:  since we seem to be talking about appliances, does anyone have any strong preferences for gas or electric ovens, and why? I am about to buy a new stove (cooktop and oven in one unit) -- the cooktop is going to be gas, I know that much. However I have a choice about whether the oven is gas or electric.

People say:

* Gas cooks food moister
* Electric gives more even heat
* Gas is more ecologically efficient

Any personal experience to share... ?

ay yi

Gordy

« Reply #1 on: 13 Mar 2005, 01:58 pm »
Oh no, not you too!!!   Gas!  I've always preferred the adjustability of gas ranges.   With the electrics I've had I was locked into 5 or 6 settings.

Carlman

« Reply #2 on: 13 Mar 2005, 02:42 pm »
When I worked as a food photographer, the cook always told me she preferred gas because it has less variance from the selected temperature.  She said that electric waits longer to heat the oven back up to the proper temperature and then overshoots it by a wide margin.  So, if you set it to 350F, the electric lets it get to 340 then heats to 360.  

Whereas with gas, it only lets it fall a few degrees and doesn't overshoot as much because the gas is immediately hot (flame) and then immediately cool when it's off.  This is essentially the same kind of control I like about the range/burners so I could relate.  She'd clearly thought more about than me but ever since I've decided to get a gas oven next time I have to buy one.

I have electric now and I hate it because the range and oven are both electric.  We installed gas lines when we moved into our house intending to upgrade to full gas as soon as we could redo the kitchen.

Gas.  It kicks ass. ;)

jcoat007

« Reply #3 on: 13 Mar 2005, 02:46 pm »
Gas for the stove, for sure.

For the oven I prefer electric if it is a convection.  Once you go convection you never go back.

Jay S

« Reply #4 on: 13 Mar 2005, 03:01 pm »