"PERFECT" NIMBUS!!! Massive delivery to Missouri!!!

EdRo

"PERFECT" NIMBUS!!! Massive delivery to Missouri!!!
« on: 11 Aug 2016, 12:48 pm »
Okay guys...here it is. I've put tons of work in this set hammering out the changes to incorporate some of the advances of the latest Joules and Storms, and I've finished what I'm calling the Perfect Nimbus. It has components from the Joule and Storm (larger Joule mid, Storm 15") wrapped up in the Nimbus form. I know some people really like the Nimbus shape, some not so much. That's the beauty of Vapor. We try to cover more bases with our creations. Sorry for the destroyed shop in the pics; hogging out that thick a baffle threw pounds of dust everywhere. Now I'm loading up for St. Louis to have a Vapor convention. Bob, fire up the smoker, amigo!!!

Peter J

• Hmmmm
Re: "PERFECT" NIMBUS!!! Massive delivery to Missouri!!!
« Reply #1 on: 11 Aug 2016, 02:36 pm »
Count me as one who thinks the shape of these is flat out gorgeous. As a woodworker, I marvel at the compound curves and unusual shapes. I may never hear or much less own these beauties, but maybe someday...

It's kind of a paradox about MDF, isn't it? Good from a sonic and finishing standpoint, but just not so much fun to machine and sand...yuk.

Chu Gai

• Restricted
« Reply #2 on: 11 Aug 2016, 04:46 pm »
Is this a simplified cabinet construction without the stacking of plywood?

DaveC113

• Industry Contributor
  • ZenWaveAudio.com
« Reply #3 on: 11 Aug 2016, 05:10 pm »
Is this a simplified cabinet construction without the stacking of plywood?

Nimbus were never stacked ply.

Nice work Ed!  :thumb:

pdj

« Reply #4 on: 11 Aug 2016, 05:25 pm »
Beautiful Ed.  Love how Vapor innovates.  Will it also use the Joule's larger RAAL tweeter?  Looks like it.

Folsom

« Reply #5 on: 11 Aug 2016, 05:34 pm »