Hawthorne SI vs. Visaton B200

rajacat

• Washington State
Hawthorne SI vs. Visaton B200
« on: 8 Feb 2007, 07:09 pm »
I'm new to OB and considering getting my feet wet. What are the differences in sound quality between these two drivers? Which are the simplest to implement? I understand that the Hawthorne's are coaxial which might make them less dependent on slight differences in baffle design.

Thanks,

Raja

scorpion

Re: Hawthorne SI vs. Visaton B200
« Reply #1 on: 8 Feb 2007, 09:09 pm »
Rajacat,

There are no differences and no similarities either.
The B200 is a bit more forward like a young woman and the Hawthorne is more laid back like an old gentleman. Both sounding more than OK.

Come on, there are thousands of advice here and at the Hawthorne Forum.
No problem with the implementation. Just get yourself some 18" x 40 " sheet MDF or something and get going.

/Erling

robert1325

« Reply #2 on: 8 Feb 2007, 09:11 pm »
I use carton with my SI's and think it sounds great  :duh:

mcgsxr

« Reply #3 on: 8 Feb 2007, 09:18 pm »
Scorpion, wake up on the wrong side of the stinger?  Yikes, blinding sarcasm!  :lol:

Sure, he makes a decent point though, there is a lot of comparison out there around them, there are some folks here who have owned both also, so perhaps they can weigh in.

I have only used the b200, so I cannot comment on the well reviewed Silver Iris etc.

rajacat

• Washington State
« Reply #4 on: 8 Feb 2007, 09:22 pm »
Thanks, I guess what I'm looking for is someone who has/had both drivers and can give me a subjective (is there anything else) opinion.

Raj

robert1325

« Reply #5 on: 8 Feb 2007, 09:30 pm »
I do agree with scorpion, the SI's are quite laid-back.

They don't come off as your hyper detailed super fast speakers with treble trough the roof!

JohninCR

« Reply #6 on: 8 Feb 2007, 10:06 pm »